Dan Sheehan

Dan Sheehan, the only coach at Le Moyne College to lead his team to a national championship, has served as head coach for 16 seasons.

One of the nations most successful lacrosse coaches, he enters his 17th season with a 220-40 (.846) overall mark. Since the turn of the century, Sheehans Dolphins are 208-23 (.900). The 1995 Ithaca College graduate has guided Le Moyne to 11 NCAA tournament berths in the last 12 years - its only trips to the national tournament in program history. Sheehan is a seven-time Northeast-10 Conference Coach of the Year, 2000 USILA Division II Coach of the Year and 2010 FieldTurf Division II Coach of the Year. In 2013, Sheehan led the Dolphins to their fourth National Championship in the last 10 years with an 11-10 victory over Mercyhurst University in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. After entering the Northeast-10 Conference Championships as the third seed, the Dolphins knocked off Saint Anselm at home before defeating #6 Merimack (8-4) and #2 Adelphi (7-5) on the road to claim their 11th Northeast-10 Conference Championship. Seeded third in the NCAA Tournament's North Region, Le Moyne started its run to a fourth national title with a 9-8 overtime victory over second-seeded LIU Post in the first round. The following week, the Dolphins rallied from an early deficit to beat top-seeded Adelphi University, 16-13, in the National semifinals to earn their seventh berth in the title game. After heading into halftime of the national championship game tied at five with Mercyhurst, the Dolphins rattled off six straight goals in the third and fourth quarters en route to the victory. In 2009, the Dolphins returned to the National Championship game for the fourth consecutive season. The Dolphins lost to C.W. Post, 8-7, at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Massachusetts to end the season 16-1. Le Moyne went undefeated in conference play for the ninth time in the last 10 years by posting a 9-0 record against Northeast-10 opponents. The Dolphins cruised through the conference tournament, allowing just four goals over two games, to claim their ninth tournament title. The Dolphins led the nation in scoring defense (3.94) for the ninth straight season, while also recording the top Man-Down Defense (7-68/.103) and Winning Percentage (16-1). Senior goalkeeper Doug McIver received top individual honors for leading the country in Goals-Against-Average (3.96) and save percentage (.681). In 2008, Sheehan led the Dolphins to their third consecutive appearance in the National Championship game, held at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Massachusetts. Sheehans charges, which finished the season 15-2, fell to New York Tech in the title game by a score of 16-11. En route to the title game, the Dolphins clinched their eighth Northeast-10 Conference regular season championship by going 10-0 in conference play. For the eighth consecutive season, Le Moyne posted the best goals against average in Division II (3.94). In 2007, the Dolphins earned their third national championship and second consecutive title by defeating Mercyhurst, 6-5, in Baltimore, Maryland. The USILA honored Most Outstanding player of the game, Mike McDonald, with the Turnbull Award, and three other players were announced as First Team All-Americans. From 2004 to 2007, Sheehan led his teams to 63 wins and only dropped 3 contests. With a third national championship ring, the senior class left as the programs most decorated. In 07, the Dolphins led the nation in goals against average for the seventh consecutive season. In 2006, he guided the Dolphins to a program record 18 wins and its second national championship. Le Moyne was ranked first in every poll, led the nation in goals against average for the sixth consecutive season and landed eight players on the USILA All-America team en route to its second perfect season in three years. The Dolphins downed Dowling 12-5 in front of 23,990 at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia for their second national championship. In 2005, Sheehan led the Dolphins to a 14-1 overall mark and 10-0 Northeast-10 Conference record. Le Moynes vaunted defense allowed an unprecedented 3.27 goals per game. A program-record seven Dolphins were named to the USILA All-America teams, including national player of the year Travis Tarr. An 11-10 double overtime triumph over Limestone in front of 19,202 at M&T Bank Stadium in the NCAA Division II Championship capped off a perfect 2004 season. Le Moyne trailed 10-9 with nine seconds remaining, but out of a timeout Brandon Spillett rushed the cage and scored to send the game into overtime. The Dolphins dodged several Limestone chances in the extra sessions, but Spillett netted the decisive goal in the second overtime. The Dolphins raced through the regular season unbeaten, hosted the Northeast-10 Conference Championship as the regular season titelist for the fifth consecutive time, topped Bryant 7-6 for their fourth straight league crown and edged N.Y. Tech 7-5 to advance to the national championship game. In 2003, Sheehan was named the NE-10 Conference Coach of the Year for the fourth consecutive time. The 2003 squad opened the season with a dramatic victory at defending national champion Limestone and proceeded to rattle off 14 consecutive victories. Le Moyne was ranked atop every USILA Division II regular season coaches poll as the Dolphins won a school-record 14 games. Eventual national champion N.Y. Tech spoiled the unblemished season 12-11 at Le Moyne in the national semifinals. Statistically, Le Moyne topped the NCAA Division II in defense, allowing just 5.33 goals per outing. In 2002, Sheehan guided the Dolphins to new heights, becoming the first mens lacrosse coach to lead Le Moyne into the NCAA tournament and the first to gain the nations No. 1 ranking. Le Moyne topped the national statistics in scoring offense, scoring defense and margin of victory (11 goals per game). In 2001, Sheehan led Le Moyne to a 12-3 record and the second Northeast-10 Conference Championship in program history. Le Moyne topped the national statistics in goals allowed per-game and man-down. Sheehan was named the 360Lacrosse.com Division II Coach of the Year and Northeast-10 Conference Coach of the Year. The United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association named Sheehan its 2000 Division II Morris Touchtone National Coach of the Year. He also earned the conference coach of the year award for the first time. At the time, the 13-3 overall mark equaled the best of all-time and the 8-0 conference regular season mark set off a string of seven consecutive unbeaten seasons that reached 70 straight league wins before ending in 2007.