Kevin Conry

Kevin Conry was announced as the second head coach in the history of Michigan men’s lacrosse on June 21, 2017.

He arrived in Ann Arbor after spending the last five seasons at the University of Maryland as defensive coordinator, and the past two as associate head coach.

Conry's tenure got off to a host start with 7-2 record in non-conference play, and Michigan had a program-best 5-2 home record on the campaign, winning the first five home contests of the season at the brand new U-M Lacrosse Stadium. The Wolverines set new high water marks for highest rankings in both national polls, checking in as high as No. 15 in the Maverik media poll and 17th in the USILA poll. Wins over ranked opponents on the road vs. No. 4 Notre Dame on March 21 and No. 14 Penn State in overtime finished out the season on a high note. In all, U-M ended the season with an 8-6 overall record.

Conry, who was named head coach John Tillman’s top lieutenant prior to the 2016 campaign, was part of one of the most successful eras of Maryland men's lacrosse, including the Terrapins' 2017 national championship. In five seasons, he helped lead the Terps to four NCAA Final Fours and five Big Ten Conference titles.

In 2017, Conry’s defensive unit earned a long list of accolades, including the Schmeisser Award, which was presented to Tim Muller for being the nation's top defenseman. Isaiah Davis-Allen earned First Team USILA All-America honors for the second straight year, becoming the first Maryland defender to achieve the feat since 1975-76.

The 2016 Maryland defense featured a bevy of experience developed under his guidance, including five USILA All-Americans. The Terrapins won a school-record 17 games en route to their third consecutive NCAA Final Four appearance. Conry's defense ranked 10th nationally in scoring defense (8.35 goals/g) and third in man-down defense (73 percent).

Conry's defensive unit led the nation in scoring defense in 2015, allowing just 7.1 goals-per-game en route to Maryland's second straight NCAA Final Four appearance. Kyle Bernlohr received the Kelly Award as the nation's top goalkeeper, making the Terps the first team to win the award in back-to-back seasons with different goalkeepers since 1961-62 (Niko Amato, 2014).