Pat McCabe

Pat McCabe was announced as the fourth head coach of the women's lacrosse program on Sept. 4, 2014, and enters his fifth season at the helm in 2019.

In his four years at the helm, McCabe has guided the Panthers in their championship tradition, adding two NCAA Division II national crowns to the team's resumé while reaching the national championship game in his firs three years. The squad has also won three Northeast-10 Championships, running the team's total to seven in nine seasons.

A National Hall of Fame defenseman, McCabe started his illustrious playing career at Elmont Memorial High School, where he led the program to a New York State Championship. In 1987, he matriculated at Syracuse, where he won three NCAA Division I National Championships, earned four United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association All-American honors and was the 1990 NCAA Defensive Player of The Year.

Following college, McCabe moved into the professional ranks, playing for the New York Saints of the National Lacrosse League from 1992-2001, with seven years as team captain. In 2001, he joined the Long Island Lizards of Major League Lacrosse, spending six years with team, all of them as captain. He also helped the Lizards to MLL Championships in 2001 and 2003.

McCabe also brings a wealth of international experience to Adelphi. He first donned a USA jersey in 1988 as part of the U19 team at the World Championships in Adelaide, Australia, where he earned "Fairest and Best Player" honors. He followed that up with inclusion on the 1990 (alternate), 1998 and 2006 United States national teams, earning a gold medal in 1998 and a silver medal at the 2006 World Championships.

Collegiately, McCabe spent time as a defensive coordinator with the LIU Post men's lacrosse program from 1999-2001, helping the Pioneers to NCAA Division II runner-up finishes in 1999 and 2000. He was also a member of the Adelphi University men's lacrosse coaching staff in 2011, pushing the Panthers to NCAA Division II runner-up status.

McCabe is also the founder and camp director for Shooting Star Lacrosse camps, which have operated since 1999, and founded ICON Lacrosse.