Seth Tierney

Seth Tierney became the fifth head coach in the history of the Hofstra Men's Lacrosse program when he was hired for the position in August 2006.

Entering his 13th season in 2018-19, Tierney has led the Pride to 104 victories, the 2008 Colonial Athletic Association championship, the 2009, 2011 and 2014 CAA regular season titles, and berths in four consecutive NCAA Championships from 2008 through 2011. He has also coached 14 student-athletes who have earned All-America honors and 63 who have earned all-conference accolades.

Tierney served as an assistant coach at Hofstra from 1995 through 2000 before leaving for a similar position at his alma mater Johns Hopkins University. During his six-year tenure as an assistant, Hofstra recorded six consecutive winning seasons with a combined overall record of 61-28 and a conference mark of 29-2, captured five league titles, received five top 15 final national rankings, and played in four NCAA Championship tournaments.

Tierney also coached seven All-Americans and nearly two dozen all-conference players during his first tenure at Hofstra. Among them was midfielder Doug Shanahan, who would receive the inaugural Tewaaraton Trophy as College Lacrosse Player of the Year, the Lt. Ray Enners Award as the Division I Player of the Year, and the Lt. Donald McLaughlin Award as the Division I Midfielder of the Year in 2001.

Last year, the Pride defense ranked second in the nation on their way to a second consecutive trip to the CAA Championship semifinals. Goalie Jack Concannon earned his second consecutive All-America honor, six student-athletes earned All-CAA accolades and four seniors were picked for the USILA North-South Senior All-Star Game.

In 2017, Hofstra opened the season with 10 consecutive victories and rise to number two in the national rankings. The Pride advanced to the CAA Championship semifinals before suffering a one-goal defeat and end the season at 11-3. In the process, then-senior Josh Byrne earned CAA Player of the Year honors as well as All-CAA first team honors joining four other Pride first team selections. Freshman Ryan Tierney earned CAA Rookie of the Year honors and was one of two all-conference second team picks as well as one of two all-rookie team selections. Goalie Jack Concannon earned USILA All-America second team honors and All-CAA first team accolades.