Amanda O'Leary

Amanda O’Leary, an experienced coach who played the sport at its highest level, finished her ninth season at the helm of the Florida Gators in 2018.

O’Leary has turned her team into a national powerhouse since its inception in 2010. Hired to lead Florida’s inaugural lacrosse team on June 22, 2007, O’Leary had the opportunity to recruit and organize the program before the Gators began competition in the 2010 season. Her impressive career record of 310-101 (.754) ranks among the best of active head coaches in the nation. In nine seasons, she has taken Florida to an NCAA Final Four, five NCAA quarterfinal appearances, four BIG EAST regular season, four BIG EAST tournament titles, four American Lacrosse Conference regular season titles and two ALC tournament championships. She has also coached 17 Gators who have earned 59 All-America honors, four Tewaaraton Award finalists and two Honda Sports Award nominees.

The 2018 season was one for the record books for both O’Leary and the Florida program. She picked up her 300th career win after a 16-11 victory over Georgetown on March 24 – O’Leary is one of only five coaches in the history of DI women’s lacrosse to accomplish the feat (Navy's Cindy Timchal - 497, Princeton's Chris Sailer - 390, North Carolina's Jenny Levy - 318, and Virginia's Julie Myers – 307). The Gators went 17-4 en route to their first NCAA Quarterfinal since the 2014 season and won their fourth consecutive BIG EAST Tournament title. Florida also picked up its fourth-straight BIG EAST regular season championship after going 9-0 in conference play. The team set a program record for most goals scored with 343 and most caused turnovers (188). 2018 marked Florida’s sixth season with at least 17 wins in the nine-year history of the program. The Gators were the No. 6 seed in the NCAA Tournament, where they defeated No. 15 Colorado in the Second Round to advance to the first NCAA Quarterfinal since 2014. Florida traveled to No. 5 JMU and put up a tough fight before falling 11-8 to the Dukes. Seven Florida players were named IWLCA All-Region, the most in program history and four earned All-American honors (Haley Hicklen, Sydney Pirreca, Lindsey Ronbeck and Cara Trombetta). Three Gators won BIG EAST Awards: Shannon Kavanagh (Freshman of the Year), Sydney Pirreca (Midfielder of the Year), Haley Hicklen (Goalkeeper of the Year) and O’Leary was honored with the BIG EAST Coaching Staff of the Year.