Shannon Smith

Shannon Smith is entering her seventh season as the head women's lacrosse coach at Hofstra University in 2019.

Smith became the ninth head coach in the history of the Hofstra Women’s Lacrosse program in July 2012.

Smith has coached the Pride to 49 wins in her first six seasons and led her squad to the Colonial Athletic Association Championship Tournament three times.

The 2018 campaign saw Hofstra win eight games for the second consecutive season against a schedule that featured seven teams that advanced to the NCAA Tournament. The future was on display for Hofstra in 2018 as well as all four of the Pride’s postseason honorees from the CAA were either sophomores or freshmen.

In 2017, Smith led Hofstra to eight victories as the program took a major step forward and upped its overall win total by five victories and increased its CAA wins as well. Individually she oversaw the development of several standouts, as Alyssa Parrella, Drew Shapiro, Alexa Mattera and Darcie Smith all earned awards from the CAA. Parrella arguably had one of the best freshman seasons in the nation as she picked up CAA and ECAC Rookie of the Year accolades.

Hofstra won a trio of games in 2016 as the team was decimated by injuries throughout the season. Following the season four Pride student-athletes would earn awards from the CAA, including Lindsay Scott as a member of the first team and Lindsey Alfano on the second team.

The 2015 season would see Smith lead Hofstra to an 11-win season and a regular season CAA title after finishing the regular season with a perfect 6-0 mark in conference play. It marked Hofstra’s first-ever perfect season in CAA play and the first time the Pride went undefeated in regular season league play since going 6-0 in the America East Conference in 2001. In just her third season at the helm of the program she led Hofstra to the number one seed in the conference tournament for the first time since the 2007 campaign. Smith’s stellar season leading the Pride garnered her CAA Coach of the Year accolades. She became the first Hofstra coach to win that award since 2005.